GBS 2017 – Day 9: Ishmael’s Meat

Today marked the official day that I ran out of underwear. I knew the impending doom would come but I did not think it would be this soon. I decided to worry about this later. We started this day bright and early (7:45 am) and had breakfast at the five star PolyU cafeteria, before making our way to Zhuhai to fit the orthotics on the children. To get to Zhuhai we took the same ferry as before and arrived around 2:00.

But it was not time to relax just yet, it was time for Ishmael’s family restaurant. It was time to “get hype” and prepare for the flavorful meal that was about to come. We had been to this restaurant on our first trip to Zhuhai and long awaited for the moment that we could return. And so, with much excitement, the group walked to Ishmael’s. But our souls were almost crushed when Ishmael was not there when we arrived and when they ran out of dumplings. We still decided to eat there, and with frowns on our faces we all just ordered noodles and rice. Our mopey faces were too much for Ishmael’s son, so he called his father, who was on a peaceful walk, and said “The Americans are here…” Ishmael replied “Say no more, I’m already sprinting to the grocery store. Son, fire up the grill and offer them our world famous skewers.” So we were told that dumplings would be served and that we could order from the grill. Our faces lit up just like faces of the children when we played with them, and we proceeded to order all the skewers and dumplings that we could handle. After waiting for Ishmael and the groceries to arrive, we were finally served our long awaited meals. I charged through my noodles, in anticipation and excitement for the lamb skewers that I ordered.

File_001

I thought Ishmael’s could not get any better than the last time…but I was so wrong. These skewers were heavenly, meat so tender and seasoned so perfectly that one would think this is a meal meant for the Gods. When the cumin and chili powder that coated Ishmael’s meat touched my tongue, it also touched my heart. Euphoria and awe set it, I could not believe how crispy the outside was but how soft the fat filled center was. And when the dumplings came, it was game over. This meal entered my top three greatest meals of all time, topping my father’s lamb chops and my grandpa’s mutton curry. In the words of Barrington Bennett, “Wow, just wow” as he checked his pulse to determine if he was still alive after this spectacular meal.

File_000 (1)

After filling our stomachs with Ishmael’s meat and waddling our bloated selves to the hotel, we rested for the wild night to come. After hours of “chilling” in Room 307, it was time for a spontaneous night filled with KARAOKE at KTV. I have to admit, I was not much of a karaoke fan but I tagged along anyway. I never expected to have so much fun. We started the night just right with some “Broccoli” by D.R.A.M. and Lil’ Yatchy. We continued to sing songs from the latest Kendrick album to “Superstitious” by Stevie Wonder to Party in the USA by Hannah Montana and way too much more. Harvey graced us with his Penn Glee Club voice in a couple songs and even added his own flare. As the night continued, I realized this group of diverse yet close knit group of people got me to open myself to karaoke, something I previously took no interest in, and that I could not have asked for a funnier, weirder and overall more fun group to go to China with.

P.S. I also bought some new underwear at Wal-Mart.

File_000

-Rohit Shinde
5/22/17

 

 

 

 

One thought on “GBS 2017 – Day 9: Ishmael’s Meat

Leave a Reply

